Mind Your Experience, Transform Your Mindset [Thoughts I used to…]

It's me!

For the past weeks, I have been thinking of my “I-used-to-but-now” thoughts. Gah!

I pondered on thoughts and experiences that happened long time ago and just recently. It felt like I was re-reading a book; looking for the highlighted words and sentences. I must say this is an influence of Mr. Bob Goff, author of Love Does. Thanks Sir! I enjoyed the book. I am more than blessed.

Here are some of my “IUTBN” thoughts. I’ll just add whenever there are “light bulb moments” and “live-pop-out images”. I hope and pray that you’ll also be blessed. Nah! If not, God bless you and from deepest part of my heart, I am sending you my sincerest apologies. 😀

I used to think love was logical but now I think logic is selfish and aggressive. Love is a different thing. Sometimes, there are no happy endings but it gives you your best chance.

 

I used to think taking a risk was a problem to be solved but now I think it is an experience to be treasured.

 

I know God only whispers the truth. Yet, in times of trouble, I still try to listen to the lies of the enemy for I thought it will give me comfort. But now I think I don’t need comfort to get over a bad day, I only need an unfailing love. And it’s from a God who whispers, a God who loves to come close- knee-to-knee, elbow-to-elbow.

 

I used to think you would have real happiness when you finally succeed your own battle. But now I think real happiness comes when you rejoice with the success of others.

 

I used to think distance would separate you to people you truly cherish. But now I think it isn’t about distance; it’s about communication and connection empowered with love. If you know how to value those two, you can beat the distance in between. It’s not about the miles, it’s about the heart. That’s the immeasurable power of love. Love knows no distance. A genuine relationship knows no boundaries.

 

I used to think waiting was hard [especially if it’s a long wait]. But now I think, it’s harder to see yourself distracted and destructed by something you’ve been waiting for- which will actually be given to you if it’s yours; or will not be yours because the truth is- the best is yet to come. Remember, it’s not about what you are waiting for. It’s who you are while waiting.

 

Though I am fond of clouds I used to see them as simple formation of gases and stuff- the basic scientific process of cloud formation. But now I think, clouds are made to show us that the One who created them is always there to look down and check on us- day and night; a reminder that there’s more to life and there’s a lot of reason to look up.

 

Things change, certainly. It is because the constant thing on Earth is change. I used to think change was a way to grow up and be a “lady-of-honor and success”. But now I think it’s not just about change, it’s about knowing your identity and transforming your mindset.

 

I used to think a way-out would make things better. But now I think there’s no need for a way-out when circumstances aren’t going well. Because there’s another way to keep things chill, look up, close your eyes and think of how you want to have an awe-inspiring tomorrow. Remember, tomorrow is another day. Every day is a brand new day therefore welcome “tomorrow” with a smile.

 

I used to think failure was like a “dead-spot”- it kills our dreams, our happiness and all other greater things that we imagine. But now I think failure is like a dose of vitamin that makes us a better version of ourselves- so we can have a better version of the things we dreamed of. Hello Yo! It is an opportunity to change a “make-up” plan.

 

I used to think when we weren’t able to craft a plan everything else would turn out as a mess. But now I think that it doesn’t mean you don’t have a plan  you won’t be strategic. Sometimes, the best experience/strategy comes out when we’re out of our plans.

 

I used to think comfort zone would sustain life. But now I think it is a killer zone. I’d rather step out and enter the courage zone than not to experience the sweetness of God during a battle and His pre-planned victory.

 

I used to think giving up and failure were variables “x and y directly proportional to each other if there is a non-zero constant k “. But now I think I don’t have to make things complicated. 😀 Life is not just an equation and giving up doesn’t always mean failure. There are just things that are not worth fighting for.

 

I used to think blessings were rewards from the good things I did. But now I think blessings are more than rewards. Blessings are precious gifts from a man who has already paid all of it at the cross. He is doing things that you cannot do for yourself.

 

I used to think letting go of your dream was letting go of your future. But now I think there are dreams that we have to let go so we will be of greater impact to others. Fulfilling a dream which you alone would benefit does not make any sense at all.

 

I used to think when we asked God for a way out in an unwanted circumstance, He’ll make a way to give it to us because He is a God who gives. But now I think, the more you ask for a way out, the more He will trap you. The more He will prove to you that you deserve to stay, continue what both of you have started. He wants you to finish the fight. He wants you to know that He is God, not a wish granting factory. And sooner enough, you’ll understand that He has in store greater things in your life.

Leave a reply

