Love: The truth behind the myth

Seriously, I don’t know how to start this. I was longing to write about “something” I actually don’t know what that “something” might be. Then, after a year or so, I heard this song once again. I thought I was not okay. I wanna cry. I was so broken. I wanna sit somewhere I could have my moment. Emo-ish? No. The truth is I’m more than okay. It’s just the melancholic part of me. Please bear with me as this will be very messy and random. Ahhh! This song!

Glance by Misty Edwards

I remember the first glance
I remember the first romance
I remember the first dance
When I fell in love with You
When I fell in love with You
When I fell in love…

I thought that I would never know love
And maybe I would never know touch
And then You came and awakened me
And then You came unlocking me
I’ve never known a love like this
You’ve shown the truth behind the myth
The mystery

I remember the first glance
I remember the first romance
I remember the first dance
When I fell in love with You
When I fell in love with You
When I fell in love…

When it’s all been said
When it’s all been done
When the race is run
And this life overcome
I will remember Your love
I will remember Your love I will remember Your love
I will remember Your love

 

Do you remember your first encounter with your wife/ husband, girl friend/ boyfriend, or special someone? Do you remember the first time your crush noticed your genuine smile? Do you remember the first time you fell in love like as if your time stops turning the moment he or she passed by or the first time you went out together for a cup of coffee?  Well, I suppose you have kept those memories in your heart and in your mind. You might even have your diary where you put all of the things you did with him or her.

It’s great to feel so loved, isn’t it? But it’s far more amazing to be in love with someone you want to be with FOREVER. Tell me if it’s just me. Haha! So, my mind and my hands are now talking about love. BOOM!

Love? What is love? Isn’t it love if we accept the hard to like? Can you see love? How will you know if it’s love? There are so many questions and ideas running when love is the center of a conversation. But there’s one thing about love that I will remember ‘til eternity.

Jesus came to be crushed for us. He came to be bruised, scourged and pierced. Why?

Because He loves us.

His love is more than just a feeling; it is His sacred obsession for all of us. Feelings come and go but His love is everlasting.

Love is a daily commitment. It is a decision to be faithful. Love changes our paths- to a direction of truth and wisdom. True love is unconditional-it is not blind. Love is not possessive. It is built on trust. Love is not easy-even to love the most loveable person in the room. Love is not two kinds of ice cream- that you have to choose among the flavors then put it aside when you don’t like it. Love is an undistracted devotion. Love is not being filled with fuzzy feelings and flying with butterflies. Love is not just an emotion. It is an act- an act of valuing others more than yourself. Love is being after one’s heart; not on the things you see. Love is not about the one you love, it is always the one doing the loving.

We have our own definition of love. But above all, we must rely to the wisest definition of love, “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” 1Corinthians 13:4-7

Try as you might, you can’t hinder yourself from giving love and from being loved.

So, what’s love for you?

Leave a reply

