Rise of the Guardians

Amazed until the end.

Yeah, I was amazed and astounded for the whole 97 minutes of watching the Rise of the Guardians. This is a 100% movie for the kids and a 100% must watch movie for adults.

It is a movie based on William Joyce‘s The Guardians of Childhood book series and The Man in the Moon short film by Joyce and Reel FX.  Here’s the glimpse of the story for those who haven’t watched it yet. I’ll try not to spoil much of it. Jack Frost, the spirit of winter and forgot who he really was when he’s alive, was chosen by the Man in the Moon to be one of the Guardians. The Guardians include North (better known as Santa Claus), Easter Bunny, Tooth Fairy and Sandman. The Man in the Moon had to choose another member of the guardians because Pitch, the Bogey man, had returned and is threatening the children. At first, Jack declines to join because of his frustrations and being invisible ever since because people don’t believe in him. But, North persuades him by explaining their mission. Pitch began his evil deeds and made the children disbelief the guardians. Jack’s true identity was revealed after unlocking his memories in his tooth box. He was inspired by the revelation of his heroism when he is alive. His power was then restored after a hard fight with Pitch. When things are getting rough for the guardians and almost all of the children do not believe in their spirit, they learned that there is one believing child left; Jamie. Jack races to the boy and make him belief of the guardians existence as well as his spirit. Jamie eventually saw Jack Frost. The Guardians confront pitch together with Jamie and his friends. The children’s faith empowered the Guardians to fight back the villain. Sandman resurrects and fights with the team. Finally, the Guardians defeated Pitch and sent him back to his lair.

rise-of-the-guardians-2012-wide

Well, it’s hard to tell the story in words. You better watch and experience it. Further, I am not a technical writer so I won’t be making a movie review here. All I want to share are the insights and encouragements I got from the movie.

I remembered a scene where North gets his Matryoshka doll (a Russian Doll that looks like him). He gets the doll one by one up to the baby Santa doll. North emphasized that before he became what he is, he is a child and that is his center. He then asked Jack of this: “What’s your center?”. The moment North spoke those words; it’s as if he was talking to me. What’s my center? There, I remembered that before I become who I am right now, I am a daughter, I am His daughter, and I am a Princess of the King, a royal priesthood.  I have a purpose and that is to fulfill His dreams and desires. I am here to change the world and make His story.

$(KGrHqZ,!q4F!-S1LdRLBQWMRdovGw~~60_35

article-0-1640ADDD000005DC-851_634x437

There’s also one point that the characters are talking about the evil, bad dreams and their existence. But one of the characters boldly said, “Yes, it will always exist. But I don’t have to FEAR it.” We must not fear the works of the evil. Instead, we have to fight the battle, aim to be victorious and free. Our God and the good guys are always there to lift us up.

Isaiah 41:10

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

We should all know why we are here; the purpose of our existence. We will not feel the completion of our identity if we will not know and understand our purpose. Packaged with our purpose is our destiny. WE all have our own destiny. It is not accident why you and I are in this world full paradox. Just like the Guardians even the elves; we have our unique identity and purpose. There are times that other people might not see it. But hey! As long as you know who you are, as long as you know why you’re here, as long as you know your purpose, you will feel the completion of yourself and no one can definitely take away your identity. Let us be emptied of our spirit and be filled much more of His spirit, our Maker’s spirit. Take away the fear. Let us stand firm in our faith, be men and women of courage, and be strong for the Lord our God loves us. And, His love casts out fear.

Rise of the Guardians Trailer

One thought on “Rise of the Guardians

  1. I love your pages and your form of self-expression, it is a pleasure to have you share your gifts through your pages Thank you. I have nominated you for blog of the Year please visit my page Blog of the year awards and nominations Thank you! Revised
    Posted on December 9, 2012

Leave a reply

